Green Ribbon Awards Logo Leaves


The Green Ribbon Awards recognize outstanding achievements in campus sustainability. Each year, one award to an individual or group is made in each of the six categories:

Student Group


In celebration of the Sustainability Office’s 10th year on campus, a new category was added – The Beth Savan Honourary Green Ribbon Award. Beth Savan, Senior Lecturer Emeritus, School of the Environment, has been an integral part, not only of the formation of the Sustainability Office, but of the general sustainability program on campus.

Awards are made for the nominee’s direct contribution to the minimization of negative impacts on the environment, the conservation of natural resources, or the promotion of biodiversity on campus. Alternatively, their contribution may have increased awareness of the need for environmentally sustainable behaviour, encouraged and assisted members of the university community to adopt more environmentally sustainable behaviour, or helped establish a campus culture allowing this to happen.

Nominations take place in January and are submitted on our website through an online form (available on the website in January).
The current St. George community are eligible for the student, student group, faculty and staff categories. Past members of the St. George community are eligible for the Honourary category. External partners that work/support members of the St. George community are eligible for the external category.


 Congratulations to our 2018 winners (St. George Campus):

Student (in alphabetical order):
Alyy Patel
Anne Boucher
Sabrina Lau

Student Group: Environmental Students’ Union

Faculty: John Robinson

Staff – Inspirational: Andrea Budgey

Staff – Eco-footprint: Ron Vander Kraats 

External: Béatrice Lego

Honourary: Ron Swail

Full list of past winners



Leave a Reply